12 NCAC 09B .0314 CERTIFICATION OF DIVERSION INVESTIGATORS AND SUPERVISORS

(a) The diversion training courses for investigators and supervisors shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the duties of a law enforcement Diversion Investigator or Supervisor. The diversion training course for investigators shall be 20 classroom hours delivered utilizing the Prescription Drug Diversion Investigator Certification Course developed by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and North Carolina Justice Academy. The diversion training course for supervisors shall be administered in a four hour online training course utilizing the Prescription Drug Diversion Supervisor Certification Course developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy. To be certified as a Diversion Investigator or Diversion Supervisor the trainee shall complete the respective diversion training course and achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the comprehensive written or online examination. The examination shall be an objective test covering the topic areas contained in the accredited course curriculum.

(b) Applications for Diversion Investigator or Diversion Investigator Supervisor Certification shall be submitted to the Standards Division within 60 days of the date the applicant passed the State comprehensive examination administered at the conclusion of the Commission-accredited diversion training program. Persons having completed the Commission-accredited diversion training course and not having submitted the application within 60 days of the date the applicant passed the State comprehensive examination for diversion training course and not having submitted the application within 60 days of the date the applicant passed the State comprehensive examination shall complete a subsequent Commission-accredited diversion training course in its entirety.

(c) Only a Sheriff, deputy sheriff, or law enforcement officer certified or appointed through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards or North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commissions and employed by a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in a diversion training course. A trainee shall not be certified as a Diversion Investigator or Diversion Supervisor until the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Subchapter, has been completed with passing scores and probationary or general law enforcement certification has been granted as outlined in 12 NCAC 09C .0303, 12 NCAC 09C .0304, 12 NCAC 10B .0403 or 12 NCAC 10B .0404. Sheriffs and appointed deputy sheriffs shall be allowed to participate in the diversion training courses on a space available basis at the discretion of the Diversion Training Course School Director without having enrolled in, or having completed with passing scores, the Basic Law Enforcement Training course, pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Subchapter and 12 NCAC 09G .0411 and without being currently certified in a probationary status or holding justice officer certification.

(d) Special Agents with the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation deemed Diversion Investigators as of July 1, 2019, shall be automatically granted certification under this Rule for a period of three years.

(e) The term of certification as a Diversion Investigator or Supervisor shall be three years. An application for renewal shall be received by the Criminal Justice Standards Division within 60 days prior to the current certification date and shall include the following:

- (1) proof that the applicant completed the one hour Diversion Investigator or Diversion Supervisor refresher training as provided by the North Carolina Justice Academy, and
- (2) a completed Diversion Investigator/Supervisor Application, Form F-22(LE).

(f) The "Diversion Training Courses" required for certification, authored by the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation and published by the North Carolina Justice Academy, shall include the topic areas as outlined in G.S. 17C-6(a)(19) and is to be applied as the basic curriculum for the Diversion Training Courses for Diversion Investigator and Diversion Supervisors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division North Carolina Department of Justice 1700 Tyron Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 and obtained at cost from the Academy at the following address: North Carolina Justice Academy Post Office Box 99 Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17E-4; 90-113.74E; Eff. February 1, 2020; Amended Eff. October 1, 2022; January 1, 2021.